Saskatchewan Junior Hockey League

Mike Eskra Nominated


The nominees are out for the SJHL year end awards. Coaches selected the division representatives for Rookie of the Year, Player of the Year, Most Valuable Player, Goaltender of the Year and Defenseman of the Year. Media votes are now sent in, and will be tabulated to name the award winners.

The Defenseman of the Year sees a repeat candidate from last year, and a tie in one division. Eric Sinclair, who won the award last year as a member of the Melfort Mustangs, was again nominated to represent the Sherwood Division, this year as a member of the Flin Flon Bombers. Sinclair has played 41 games this season, but has also been part of three different teams. He was moved from Melfort to Melville as part of future considerations from a trade last year. He refused to report in Melville and was eventually dealt to Flin Flon. From the Finning Division, Kendall Fransoo has been named the nominee. Playing with the Battlefords North Stars, he is in his 5th season with the team, having started out as a 16-year-old. He can contribute offensively, putting up 33 points this season, and has notched 6 power play goals. The Viterra Division had a tie in the voting to determine a nominee. Rieger received the nod, as did Weyburn Red Wings captain Mike Eskra. In his third full season with the Wings, Eskra has been chipping in offensively, setting a new career high with 22 points. His defensive play has also been strong throughout the year, and was invited to the Team Canada West selection camp for the WJAC. Projected winner: Eskra.


For the rest of the articles from discoverweyburn, visit