Saskatchewan Junior Hockey League

Red Wings Players Presented with Team Awards

The Richardson Pioneer Red Wings players, coaches, billets, family and friends gathered for the team awards banquet on Tuesday evening at the Captain’s Hall.

Team president Brent Stephanson and coach Rich Pilon gave their comments about the year for the Red Wings, with coach Pilon expressing disappointment that the team’s season is already over.


Player Sebastian Eger gave a toast to the billets, and Jevon Schwean and Braden Birnie gave a toast to the parents before the awards were presented.

Goaltender Joseph Young was named the Weyburn Credit Union Most Valuable Player and the Larry’s Sewer Service Rookie of the Year Award.

Dace Prymak was presented with the Weyburn Security Gentlemanly Conduct Award, and Liam Rutten was given the Barber Motors Most Valuable Forward Award and Dee Jay’s KFC Most Popular Player Award as chosen by the fans.

Nikolas Sombrowski was presented with the Altus Group’s Unsung Hero Award.

Braden Birnie was a triple winner of hardware, as he was presented with the NSWB Law Firm Community Service Award, the Prairie Sky Co-op Top Red Wing Scorer Award and the Nick Elchuk Memorial Most Popular Player Award as chosen by his teammates.

Sebastian Eger received the Marcel Labelle Memorial award given to the Red Wing Displaying Dedication.

Nick Dobson earned the York Jewellers Most Improved Red Wing Player Award, and Jevon Schwean was presented with the Minard’s Leisure World Most Valuable Defenceman Award.

Dante Ballarin was presented with the Weimer’s Hometown Best Defensive Forward Award.

Missing was Shayde Peterson, who won the Graham Christie Memorial Award for the Most Inspirational Red Wing.